Best Teacher Awards

About the Program

The Colorado State University Alumni Association recognizes outstanding Colorado State University educators each year with Best Teacher Awards.

The teachers are nominated by students and alumni and are selected by a committee comprised of faculty, students, and members of the Alumni Association Board of Directors.



2014 Recipients

Click here to read about each recipient.

Antonette Aragon, Ph.D. (M.A. ’93, Ph.D. ’03)
School of Education
College of Health and Human Sciences



Courtenay Daum, Ph.D.
Department of Political Science
College of Liberal Arts



Rosemond Desir, Ph.D.
Department of Accounting
College of Business



Lisa Dysleski, Ph.D. (Ph.D. ’03)
The College of Natural Sciences Learning Community
College of Natural Sciences



Yerachmiel Gorelik
Department of Philosophy
College of Liberal Arts



Michael O’Reilly
Department of Construction Management
College of Health and Human Sciences


Past recipients

Nomination Guidelines

The nomination period for 2015 is now closed. If you have questions, please contact the Alumni Association at (970) 491-6533 or

Nominated teachers/professors must be current Colorado State University faculty/staff members. Selections are based on complete nomination forms that demonstrate the specific examples of how the teacher/professor influences students inside the classroom and beyond, and how the teacher/professor demonstrates a commitment to CSU.

Additionally, please note:

  1. Past Best Teacher Award recipients are not eligible. See a list of past recipients.
  2. Incomplete and/or vague nominations will NOT be considered.
  3. The quality of nominations will take precedence over the quantity of nominations for a particular teacher/professor.
  4. Nominations may be shared with nominees (after awards program has taken place), relevant departments, and/or the media.


Contact the Alumni Association at (800) 286-2586 or