Administration Building


The awardees and their nominators are invited to the Best Teacher Awards banquet March 25, where the award recipients are honored. Registration is required and will open mid-February.


The Best Teacher Awards program recognizes faculty who have made a significant impact on their students. Past nominations have included reasons faculty have changed the lives of their nominators, as well as stories about the importance of the preparation, support, guidance, and academic challenge that a Colorado State teacher has provided.

Each year, nominations are submitted by students, faculty, and alumni, and are reviewed by the selection committee. Comprised of students, alumni, and faculty and staff, the selection committee selects up to six award recipients.

Nominations for the 2020 awards are now closed. 

Nomination Guidelines

Nominations are now closed for the 2020 awards. If you have questions about the program, please contact the Alumni Association at (970) 491-6533 or

Nominated teachers/professors must be current Colorado State University faculty/staff members. Selections are based on complete nomination forms that demonstrate the specific examples of how the teacher/professor influences students inside the classroom and beyond, and how the teacher/professor demonstrates a commitment to CSU.

Additionally, please note:

  1. Past Best Teacher Award recipients are not eligible. See a list of past recipients.
  2. Incomplete and/or vague nominations will NOT be considered.
  3. The quality of nominations will take precedence over the quantity of nominations for a particular teacher/professor.
  4. Nominations may be shared with nominees (after awards program has taken place), relevant departments, and/or the media.

Contact the Alumni Association at (800) 286-2586 or

Brian Geiss, Ph.D.

College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Pathology


Dr. William H. Hanneman

College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Toxicology

KuoRay Mao, Ph.D.

College of Liberal Arts, Department of Sociology


Dr. Maria Elena Puig, MSW, Ph.D.

College of Health and Human Sciences, School of Social Work


Andrea Rice Purdy, Ph.D.

College of Liberal Arts, Department of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures


Benjamin Reynolds

College of Natural Sciences, Department of Chemistry


Mark Uchanski, Ph.D.

College of Agricultural Sciences, Department of Horticulture and Landscape Architecture