Stalwart Enthusiasm

Larry LaSasso Spirit Award

CSU’s Greatest Cheerleader

A 1934 graduate of Colorado Agricultural College and former cheerleader for the Aggies, Larry LaSasso returned home from WWII to become the greatest cheerleader in CSU history. Beginning in 1946, he helped lead Aggie cheers and donned his old cheerleading sweater. He added onto his ensemble by wearing a kilt and beret honoring his Scottish heritage.

In 1983, the Larry LaSasso Spirit Award was created to recognize individuals who have demonstrated exceptional and enduring spirit, enthusiasm, and support for Colorado State Athletics. It is presented annually during Homecoming and Family Weekend.

Larry LaSasso
Larry LaSasso, CSU’s greatest cheerleader

Congratulations to 2022 Larry LaSasso Spirit Award Recipients Mike and Traci Rowe!

In partnership with the LaSasso Spirit Award Committee and CSU Athletics, we are thrilled to honor Mike (’98) and Traci (’03) Rowe as our 2022 Larry LaSasso Award recipients.

The Rowes bleed green and gold, have season tickets to multiple sports, are regular attendees at Alumni Association events, and host game-watch parties in the Denver area for away football games. They are Alumni Association life members who support a multitude of CSU efforts with their time and philanthropy, and we couldn’t think of anyone more deserving of the LaSasso honor!

Thank you, Mike and Traci, for making us Ram Proud and for all you do for Colorado State University!

Past Larry LaSasso Spirit Award Recipients

1983 – John Schmidt
1984 – Jim and Nadine Henry
1985 – Bob Pike
1986 – Fum McGraw
1987 – Bob Reynolds
1988 – Ren and Sharon Jensen
1989 – Don and Mae Wise
1990 – John Holthorf
1991 – Jerry and Carol Rice, Fred Frantz
1992 – Drew and Liz Case
1993 – Mike Rosser
1994 – Don and Rosamary Weinmeister
1995 – Alan and Mary Ashbaugh
1996 – Mike Demma and Don “Shorty” Long
1997 – Tom Field
1998 – Jay Laetsch
1999 – John Toliver
2000- Barbara Joyce
2001 – Gene and Pat Markley
2002 – Dale and Sharon Carlson
2003 – Dave and Pat Harder
2004 – Bill and Jan Woods
2005 – Tim and Jackie O’Hara
2006 – George Colby
2007 – Harlan Horst
2008 – George Seward
2009 – Jim Smith
2010 – Mike Pierce
2011 – Norma Lloyd and Ned Steele
2012 – Jim and Jan Kincaid
2013 – Kevin Keefe
2014 – Jan and Len Carpenter
2015 – Jill and Randy Burge
2016 – Carol and Brian Zick
2017 – John Hirn
2018 – Jack Capp
2019 – Stan Hornung
2020- No Award due to pandemic
2021 – Joel Cantalamessa
2022 – Mike and Traci Rowe

2022 LaSasso Spirit Award winners Mike and Traci Rowe
Traci and Mike Rowe with their daughter, Alumni Association Executive Director Kristi Bohlender, and Athletics Director Joe Parker